AAMRI President appointed fellow of new Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

AAMRI President appointed fellow of new Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

26th March, 2015

Professor Doug Hilton, President of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI), was one of 116 fellows appointed to the new Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences at a ceremony in Canberra last night.

AAMRI’s immediate Past President, Professor Brendan Crabb, was also appointed as a fellow, as were many other directors and staff from AAMRI member medical research institutes across Australia, all of whom are elected in recognition of their excellence and leadership in health and medical research.

The Academy, launched by Minister for Health, the Hon Sussan Ley MP, aims to provide advice on issues relating to evidence-based health practice and research, mentor the next generation of health and medical science researchers, and provide a forum for discussion on medical research, with an emphasis on translation of research into health practice.

Professor Hilton said he was pleased to see so many AAMRI member institutes represented among the new fellows.

“The establishment of the Academy will help enhance policy reform to better connect advances in health and medical research with the delivery of improved healthcare,” Professor Hilton said.

“The Academy’s launch comes at an important juncture for our sector, with the eagerly anticipated legislation of the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) on the horizon. We hope to see that happen in the coming months.

“The MRFF will bring with it an exciting new age for health and medical research in this country, enabling us to explore new frontiers along with capitalising on the tremendous discoveries already being made.”

Professor Hilton offered his congratulations to the other new fellows appointed to the Academy.

“The breadth and depth of the research fields represented shows just how much talent there is in this country working to save and improve the lives of all Australians, and people around the world,” Professor Hilton said.

For more information on Professor Hilton’s research into blood cell development and function please visit www.wehi.edu.au/people/doug-hilton.

For media inquiries please contact Rebecca Thorpe on 0401 419 590 or email rebecca.thorpe@aamri.org.au.

Full list of the fellows appointed: AAHMS Fellowship List March 2015-2.