AAMRI announces new Board and steps up to gender equity goals

AAMRI announces new Board and steps up to gender equity goals

28th November, 2019

The Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI) welcomed five new Board members today from around Australia. AAMRI is delighted to announce their Board better represents the diversity of talent in medical research with women making up more than half of Board members (five women, three men).

“This Board brings an impressive variety of experience and expertise to AAMRI,” said AAMRI President Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM.

“Looking at the individual accomplishments of the new Board members I am excited to be working with them. However, for me personally, it means so much that this Board properly represents the breadth of talent from women in senior positions in the medical research sector.”

At the AAMRI AGM held today in Canberra, the following new members joined the AAMRI Board:

They will join President Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM, Telethon Kids Institute (WA), Professor Elizabeth Hartland, Hudson Institute of Medical Research (VIC) and Professor Maxine Morand, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre (VIC).

Full biographies of all Board members are available on the AAMRI website.

The outgoing members are Professor Tony Cunningham AO, The Westmead Institute (NSW), Professor Frank Gannon, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute (QLD), Professor Michelle Haber AM, Children’s Cancer Institute (NSW), and Professor Steve Wesselingh, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SA). AAMRI thanks them for their commitment, time and dedication to the medical research institute sector.